Took a Drive

After my last blog writing session I decided I needed to get out of the house and clear my head. Best way to do that? Drive up the curviest road in the area and head into Virginia City. Now usually I don’t go all the way up to this quaint small town, but that day I wasn’t done driving once I got to my normal turn around spot.

IMG_3691 copy_1

It was  a little hazy on looking across the valley from Geiger Grade. I usually try to do this drive in my littler car but it was under the weather and so my jeep did the trek with me. Not as fun going around those corners so slowly but still good enough to clear my head and just drive.

Once I got up to Virginia City, I drove around town for a bit and only stopped once for this set of pictures.

This is the courthouse. Notice anything different about their Justice? She isn’t blinded with a handkerchief. I don’t know why but I have always liked this about her.

Continuing on my journey. I drove around some more but then my husband text me to run an errand. So, I headed back down the hill….. well, I stopped at the outskirts of town because there was a few pictures that I wanted to get of town from the top of a hillside right at the town limits.

I pulled into the large dirt turnout, grabbed my camera and realized that the hill was steeper then I had first thought. Oh yeah, I was also in flip flops…. What kind of photographer would I be if I didn’t at least try to hike up the vertical wall in front of me? So off I went, slipping and sliding, trying will all my might trying not to slide back down to the bottom. Just so you know, sage brush is very strong and will help you traverse the rocky terrain of Northern Nevada. I struggled my way to the top and started snapping photos.

After I took these I started looking around trying to figure out how I was going to get back down and then I saw the gate…… there was a road/trail that had a nice sloping way up from the dirt lot I parked in. But on that gate I could see the back of a sign. Yup you guessed it. A NO TRESPASSING sign. o_O Uh oh…..

IMG_3708

I hightailed it back to the correct side of the gate to confirm my intuition… yep, not only one but two signs stated the not so obvious while climbing the hill. In all honesty, there was no sign at the bottom of the hill… well there are two (that you can see from the picture) but none of them said NO TRESPASSING. Now that I was on the correct side I thought it a bit humorous so I took this.

IMG_3714

Oops!

I meandered my way back down the nice slope of a road no longer trespassing. Took a couple more photos and then headed back home.

This type of drive was exactly what I needed to clear my head and face the feelings that were forcing their way to the surface. I will end here with a couple of the last photos I took. I’m ok and I’m getting better. I’m just glad I listen and know what to do when I have those “off” days.

Leave a Reply

